De Finetti Award

De Finetti Award

Rules of Application

We are pleased to announce that the call for papers for the de Finetti prize is now open. This prestigious award is one of the oldest given out by EADM. The prize includes a diploma and €750. In addition the SPUDM conference fee will be waived. The prize is for work done as a PhD student, even if the person has now graduated.

The rules are:

  • The PhD student should be the sole or first author and the work should be mainly that of the student. If co-authored, the paper is accompanied by a signed statement (PDF) from the co-author(s) to the effect that the student is credited as the primary source of ideas and the main author of this paper;
  • The paper should be unpublished at the moment of submission for the de Finetti competition;
  • Submissions may be no longer than 5000 words including introduction, results and discussion (note that the methods section is not included in the word-count; please report the relevant word count of the paper in the submission email). A complete thesis will not be accepted;
  • Only one paper may be submitted;
  • Only PhD students who did not have their PhD at the time of the last SPUDM conference (August 2015) are eligible.

The papers will be evaluated by a committee appointed by the Board of EADM. The 2017 committee is comprised of Susann Fiedler (chair), Bettina von Helversen, Ilana Ritov, Tilmann Betsch and Jared Hotaling.

To be considered for this award, papers and statements should be submitted before March 31, 2017, to . The winner will be notified before 3 June 2017.

Previous winners

2015  Jared Hotaling University of Basel, Switzerland
2013 Dan Raphael Schley Ohio State University, USA
2011 Shoham Choshen-Hillel Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel
2009 Benjamin Scheibehenne University of Basel, Switzerland
2007 Xianchi Dai INSEAD, France
2005 Loran Nordgren Universiteit van Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2003 Greg Barron Technion – Israel Institute of Technology, Israel
2001 Martijn Willemsen Eindhoven Technical University, The Netherlands
2001 Nicola Bown University of Leeds, United Kingdom
1999 Mandeep K. Dhami City University London, United Kingdom
1997 Johanna Kordes-de Vaal Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1995 Peter Roelofsma Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, The Netherlands